Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About us

Passenger & Freight Services

Mumbai Suburban


News, Updates & Recruitment


Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page






Sabarmati Medical Department E.O.I. (Expression of Interest: Recognition/Empanelment of Private Exclusive Eye Centers for eye investigations to detect retinal disorders and glaucoma for Railway beneficiaries)


Ahmedabad Railway Division

After the advent of Railways and its development as the principal mode of transport for passengers and goods, Ahmedabad also became the focal point of Railway activity in the western region.Divisional Head Quarter at Commercial capital of Gujarat i.e. Ahmedabad has been enjoying the prime position in list of demands of Gujarati people, traders, press and other institutions for long. As the happy end of this demand, formation of new Ahmedabad division has not only been a pleasing occasion for beneficiaries but also instrumental in spurring industrial growth of Gujarat by strengthening the tertiary (service) sector of western part of the country.
Ahmedabad division has been formed by taking various sections of Ajmer, Rajkot and Vadodara Divisions. Sections taken from Vadodara division for this new division are of 316 kms. length, that taken from Rajkot division are 610 kms. and that from Ajmer division are 484 kms. Ahmedabad division extends upto Naliya in West, Khedbrahma in East, Palanpur in North and up to Geratpur in South. The Division serves 9 districts of Gujarat namely Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, Patan, Banaskantha, Surendranagar, Kachchh, Sabarkantha, Mahesana and Rajkot.
Viramgam – Mahesana (64.65 Km) section was converted from MG to BG under the BOT scheme in December 2004.
During 2006-07 & 07-08, gauge conversion has been done on three sections of the division namely Palanpur-Gandhidham (300.81 Km), Sabarmati-Khodiyar (9.92 Km) and Gandhinagar-Kalol (20.495 Km).
During the year 2008-09, Gauge conversion was completed on Mahesana-Patan section (39 Kms).
During the year 2010-11, doubling of GIM-KDLP section (11.87Kms) & GIM-AI section (8.00km) was completed.
Presently, gauge conversion of Ahmedabad – Himmatnagar – Udaipur section (299.2 km); New Bhuj- Naliya section (43.5 km) with extension from Naliya to Vayor (24.65km); and gauge conversion of Ahmedabad – Botad section (170.48km) has been sanctioned and works are in progress. VTA–ADI third line with automatic signaling (7.5 Km), PNU-SIOB doubling (274.73 Km) and SBI 2ndcoaching terminal are major new works sanctioned this year.

Source : Western Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 27-05-2024  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.